The ABCs of Life. Currently.

Remember Facebook notes? Everyone used to do them, including myself. Well Facebook memories has reminded me that:

  1. They existed.
  2. They were sort of fun and kind of too personal but we did them anyways.

Since I have not blogged in a while because the words have not been able to come out lately, I thought I would take a stab at completing a Facebook note except written by 22-year old me rather than 16-year-old me.

Here we go.

A – Accidents

01. Have you ever been in a car accident?
Fortunately, I have not.

02. Do you have a lot of scars?
I do. If you did what I did for a living, you’d probably have some scars too.

03. Have you ever been in a fist fight with someone?
I cannot say that I have.

04. Have you ever seriously hurt anyone by mistake?
Probably.

05. Have you ever had stitches? Where?
Just when I had my wisdom teeth removed. Probably doesn’t count.

B – Beauty

06. Do you consider yourself beautiful?
I do. It took me a long time to get to this point. And I’m still struggling to see myself this way, but I do.

07. Are you self conscious of how you look?
Every day. Except at work.

08. Do you put on a lot of makeup?
I don’t wear makeup to work but when I go out, I do love to wear makeup.

09. Would you ever consider getting plastic surgery?
Definitely not. Not for vain reasons, anyway.

10. What do you think makes a person beautiful?
“On ne voit bien qu’avec le coeur. L’essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.”

C – Consequences

11. What was the longest amount of time you’ve been grounded for?
I can’t remember the last time I was grounded.

12. What would you do if you got pregnant, keep it or have an abortion?
Probably keep it at this point in my life. It’s still too early for me, but I would want to keep it.

13. Do you ever think about how your actions affect other people?
Of course.

14. What do you think is the worst punishment someone could give you?
Ostracism sucks. That’s all I’ve got right now.

15. What is one thing you wish you didn’t do, just because it wasn’t worth it in the end?
Try this buffalo chicken sauce the other night. It was not as good as I hoped.

D – Dealing

16. When you are mad at someone, how do you show them?
I either tell them, ignore them, or am passive-aggressive.

17. Name a time when you had to be strong.
Last year when I lost my dad. And every day of my life.

18. Have you ever dealt with a divorce or parents fighting? Any kind of abuse at home?
Parents fighting. Every day of my life at home.

19. When people at school don’t accept you, or have problems with you, how do you react?
I don’t care about those kinds of people anymore.

20. Have you ever lost someone to death? Explain how you got through it.
I lost my dad last year. It has not been easy and I have been taking things one day at a time.

E – Experience

21. Have you ever had a job? Any volunteer jobs?
If you have to ask, you don’t know me. Which you probably don’t. All I do is work and volunteer.

22. Do you think that you are sexually experienced, or not at all?
I’d say that I know a fair amount about the topic.

23. Have you gone through a lot emotionally, or has life been easy thus far?
It has been quite the rollercoaster.

24. Do you think you are ready to be on your own (have your own home, job, etc.)?
I am getting there. I have a full-time job, my own car, etc. but I am back at home with my mom for at least a year.

25. How old do you act?
I like to think I act my age.

F – Family

26. Is there anyone in your family you don’t talk to? Why?
Not that I can think of.

27. If you had to choose, family or friends?
Family. Because I believe that term covers my closest friends also.

28. Can you tell your parents or one of your parents anything?
I can tell my mom mostly anything.

29. Do you have any siblings? If so, do you ever get jealous of them?
I do have siblings and I don’t. We’re all at very different stages in our lives. If anything, I learn from them.

30. How often do you spend ‘quality time’ with family members?
Holidays and other get togethers allows me to spend time with family. Otherwise, I spend every weekend with my momma.

G – Growing

31. How tall are you? How tall do you wish you were?
I believe I’m 5’3 and short forever.

32. Do you think that you have grown more in the past year than any year before that?
Definitely not.

33. As a person, do you think you are mature for your age or still act childish?
I act mature most of the time, but I’m still a child at heart.

34. Are you scared to think that one day you will turn 30, then 40, then 50?
Well, I cried when I turned 20. But I think I’m excited for each coming age.

35. Do you believe you still have a lot to learn?
Absolutely. We need to learn each and every day.

H – Hope

36. Love – real or not?
It is definitely real.

37. Are you a pessimist of an optimist?
I would say I’m more of a realist but I used to be an optimist.

38. Do you believe in fate, that everything happens for a reason, or do you think that our actions lead the way?
I don’t think there is a predetermined life plan, but I think the things happen for a reason.

39. Do you think that after we die our spirit is still alive?
I do think so.

40. What gives you hope when you just feel like dying?
Friends and family.

I – Issues

41. Do you suffer from depression or constant sadness/loneliness?
Clinically, I suffer from “depressive tendencies” aka I suffered from 4 out of the 9 criteria on that specific week.

42. Do you have any type of disease or disability?
I have Panic Disorder but I wouldn’t call that a disease or a disability.

43. Are you currently in a hard relationship or have bad luck with the opposite sex?
I wouldn’t say I have bad luck, just the wrong ones.

44. Do you think that you are alone in this world?
Definitely not. But sometimes I have moments where I feel like I am.

45. How often do you think about death, suicide or running away?
Not often.

J – Jokes

46. Say a word or phrase that would not be funny to anyone but you & one of your friends (an inside joke)
“She looks like the kind of girl who knows how to wear a Bench coat.”

47. Are you usually the one who makes people laugh,Or the other way around?
I am usually the person who is making jokes. Whether or not people are laughing…. well….

48. Do you cry when you laugh hard?
Sometimes

49. Write down a hilarious moment you had with someone that makes you laugh to this day!
All the hilarious moments that come to mind are inside jokes.

50. Do you ever get in trouble for laughing or talking a lot during class?
I never really did, no.

K – Knowledge

51. The purpose of school: to learn, to cause trouble or to hang out with friends?
To learn and to hang out with friends

52. Do people refer to you as smart, dumb, or average?
Smart, usually.

53. What was the highest grade you have received (full course mark) ever?
100% I miss high school.

54. What was your last average? This year would you like to maintain it or aim higher?
I’m not in school anymore but I had an A average last year.

55. What do you find the most interesting subject to be (to study or to talk about)?
Psychology.

L – Love

56. Are you currently in love? If not, have you been before?
I am not, and I think I have been before.

57. Do people around you show you a lot of love (tell you they love you, hug you, kiss you, etc.)?
They do.

58. Is love worth it?
Of course.

59. Do you hate it when girls in their young teenage years say they ‘love’ someone that they’ve been dating for a few months?
It used to, and then I think about how strong my feelings were at that age and I understand.

60. Does it take a lot for you to say you love someone, or is it just a word?
Takes a lot.

M – Money

61. Do you believe that money makes the world go round?
Seems that way, doesn’t it

62. Is your family on the poor side, average, or above average when it comes to money?
Definitely not rich.

63. Are you saving up for college/university, or planning to?
I am saving up for grad school.

64. Would you rather win millions of dollars & be set for life, or find the perfect person to marry & start a family with?
Probably the latter

65. On a scale of 1-10, how important is money to you?
It’s pretty important, but I don’t know how I could rate it

N – Naughty

66. Are you a virgin?
That’s personal.

67. What do you think about doing sexual things with someone you’re not going out with?
To each their own.

68. Do you know anybody you consider a ’slut’? What makes you say that?
I used to but like I said above, to each their own.

69. If you could, would you erase some things you did in the past or make it so you did more?
Everything I have done in the past has made me the person I am today. I have learned a lot, missed out on a lot, and done a lot. And I’m content with that.

70. Do you consider yourself more nice or more naughty? You can’t say both!
Probably more nice.

O – Openness

71. How long does it take for you to open up to someone?
It depends. Usually takes some prying.

72. What does it take for you to fully trust someone?
My mom says I’m too trusting, so I’ll leave it at that.

73. Are you generally untrusting towards people because of past experiences, or any other reason?
Opening up leaves me feeling vulnerable and I don’t like that feeling.

74. When are you comfortable with someone sexually?
I’m a relationship girl, let’s leave it at that.

75. When it comes to parents and close friends, what’s the limit of what you can tell them?
The limit does not exist. Just kidding, obviously there are some limits. There are certain things I only talk about with certain people.

P – Positive

76. Have you ever had an experience with someone that didn’t necessarily end positively? If so, would you rather erase the memory of that person because of the sad times or keep the memory of that person because of the good times?
Always remember the good times and try to take lessons out of the times that weren’t so great.

77. Do you agree with the saying: better to have loved and lost than not have loved at all?
Love is an amazing feeling, even if it doesn’t last for as long as you expect. No regrets.

78. Are you more optimistic or pessimistic? What do you try to be?
I am a realist who tries to be an optimist.

79. Do you agree that something good can come out of everything?
There’s usually a silver lining even if it isn’t clear right away.

80. Have you ever had a time where something really bad happened, but something really good happened because of it? If so, please explain what it was:
In the past year, I went through hell and back in many ways with many different people. Because of it, I learned who my friends really were and who really cared about me when it came down to it.

Q – Questions

81. When faced with a problem, do you ask for help or try to figure it out yourself?
I usually try to figure it out myself, but if I need help, I’m not afraid to ask 500 questions to get an answer.

82. Do you often question the world and how we came about? What are some things you would like to know about creation?
I don’t really question it.

83. Do you think the government is truthful? If you could ask the president one question, what would it be?
I don’t think the government is truthful. And I’m not sure what I would ask, to be honest.

84. When someone does something wrong to you, do you confront them and ask them why they did it or just let it go?
I usually write passive-aggressive tweets, blog about it, then let it go.

85. What is one unsolved mystery about the world that you want answers to?
Why do bad things happen to good people?

R – Respect

86. How do you show respect?
Active listening.

87. What can someone do for you to lose all respect for them?
Murder. Cheating. Things of that general nature.

88. Do you respect your teachers, parents, and other authority figures?
Of course.

89. When you are disrespectful to your parents, what is the punishment?
I’m rarely disrespectful to my mom.

90. If someone is mean to you, are you mean back or do you kill them with kindness?
Kill them with kindness.

S – School

91. If you are still in school, what grade will you be going into?
I am starting my first year of graduate school in two weeks.

92. When will you graduate high school/college?
The expected graduation date for my masters is sometime in 2018.

93. After high school, what did you do/are you planning to do?
Well after high school, I went to McMaster for my undergrad and here we are.

94. Do you like or hate school? What do you like/hate about it?
I liked school. I liked learning about new things, new theories, and meeting new people.

95. Have you ever been suspended, expelled, or dropped out of school?
I have not.

T – Temptation

96. Have you ever done something wrong, knowing it was wrong, because something inside of you said it was okay?
Haven’t we all?

97. Has anyone ever pressured you to smoke or drink? Did you do it?
Yeah, a couple times. I probably did.

98. Did you ever cheat on someone? Why did you do it?
I have, yeah. Circumstances: I broke up with a guy who “did not accept my breakup” so a couple days later, another guy kissed me. In my opinion, doesn’t really count.

99. Did you ever want to do something sexual with someone you didn’t really know or love? What did you end up doing?
Yeah it was different.

100. Do you give in to temptation easily, or are you more independent and strong willed?
I’m pretty strong willed.

U – Unique

102. Do you do a lot of things because your friends are doing it?
No. I steer my own ship.

103. Do you follow trends, wear whatever you want, or wear really unique pieces?
I wear whatever I want.

104. Do you give in easily to peer pressure? Do you do things such as smoke, drink, or have casual sex?
I do not give in easily to peer pressure.

105. What makes you different from people your age?
I’m very much goal-oriented. I have priorities that I base my life decisions off of (for the most part)

V – Value

106. What’s the most expensive thing in your room?
I’m not sure, actually. Never really thought about it.

107. What’s more valuable: your life or the lives of your loved ones? Would you sacrifice your life for other people?
I would sacrifice my life for other people, especially friends and family.

108. What is something you value not because it cost a lot, but because it means a lot to you?
My photo albums.

109. If there was a fire in your house/apartment, what is the first thing you would grab?
My photo albums

110. Do you think past memories and experiences are more valuable than what could possibly happen in the future?
Memories and experiences are important – they make up our character and influence who we are as a person. But as humans, we continue to change. The future is exciting. It’s a journey.

W – Wishes

111. If you had three wishes, what would they be?
1. For more wishes, duh.
2. For a hug from my dad, just one last time.
3. To live happily ever after.

112. Would you rather wish yourself to be happy, or your loved ones?
I wish for myself to be happy and my loved ones. Can’t I say both?

113. Do you believe that wishes come true if you really believe in them?
They can. But hard work can make wishes come true sometimes.

114. Have you ever had a wish come true? If so, what was that wish?
Many times 🙂 And I’m not going to spill the beans on that, even if it already came true.

115. Do you find wishing for things a waste of time because everything that’s meant to happen, will happen?
I’m a realist, but I like to dream.

Y – You

121. Are you more independent or social?
I am usually very social, but I am also very independent.

122. What is something that makes you very mad when you see it?
Some people post the dumbest things on Facebook without checking their facts.

123. Do you think that you have potential to do great things?
Absolutely.

124. What kind of person would you be if you didn’t have guidance from family members, God, teachers, etc.? Do you think people are born a certain way, or develop their personalities based on what they go through in life?
That’s a good question. Experiences shape us but we are also born with inherited traits. I am who I am and how I got to being this person, I don’t care. I’m just glad that I am who I am.

125. Do you think people are generally good ?
I try to believe that.

Z – Zest

126. Are you currently happy with your life? Why or why not?
I am very happy with my life.

128. When change occurs, do you get scared or are you excited for it?
I get scared. I get anxious. But it also excites me.

129. Do you like to try new things, meet new people?
Absolutely to both.

130. What is the most motivational thing in the world?
Remind yourself to be the best version of yourself. I strive to be someone my dad would be proud of every single day.

About prettiestpanic

Small-town Canadian sorority girl & psychology major embracing her inner Carrie Bradshaw & Mindy Lahiri. Rarely found without a wineglass or caffeinated beverage in hand. Follow me on Twitter (@michguzrat) because odds are, if you've thought about it, I've said it in 140 characters or less.

Posted on November 8, 2015, in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

Embracing Authenticity

Don't be ashamed of your story it will inspire others!

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Lonely Blue Boy

The Boy Who Cries Wolf

WordPress.com News

Learning to cope with anxiety, grief, & dating in my 20s.

Marta Frant

Humor and Lifestyle

Noelia's Adventures

Learning to be me

MeAndDating - A Grey Knight's tale

A thinking man's naughty adventures in our modern dating world while trying to find true love.